Home » Evolution and the Stability of Complex Systems by Paul Monach
Evolution and the Stability of Complex Systems Paul Monach

Evolution and the Stability of Complex Systems

Paul Monach

Published
ISBN :
Kindle Edition
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

What do organisms, ecosystems, and economies have in common? They are all complex systems, they have all evolved, and understanding them is of great importance to us humans. In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Carl Sagan, the author--a medicalMoreWhat do organisms, ecosystems, and economies have in common? They are all complex systems, they have all evolved, and understanding them is of great importance to us humans. In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Carl Sagan, the author--a medical scientist whose research is in a different field--explores how theoretical research into the behavior of complex systems should influence our understanding of the real systems that impact our lives, and how understanding of evolutionary biology provides insight into both the fragility and resilience of ecosystems and economies. Too long to be a magazine article, too short to be a book, too heavily footnoted to conform to a traditional publishing format, but perhaps finding its niche in the digital age. Dedicated to the proposition that it is possible to be organized and tangential at the same time, and that this border between order and chaos is the optimal place for ideas, like other valuable things, to evolve.